You are here: Home / CFP Folder / July 12, 2011 - POPL 2012 ( 39th ACM SIGPLAN-SIGACT Symposium on Principles of Programming Languages)

July 12, 2011 - POPL 2012 ( 39th ACM SIGPLAN-SIGACT Symposium on Principles of Programming Languages)

*************************************************************************** * * POPL '12: CALL FOR PAPERS AND CO-LOCATED EVENTS * * 39th ACM SIGPLAN-SIGACT Symposium * on * Principles of Programming Languages * * Philadelphia, USA * January 25-27, 2012 * * ***************************************************************************
When Mar 22, 2011
Where Philadelphia, USA
Add event to calendar vCal
* 39th ACM SIGPLAN-SIGACT Symposium
* on
* Principles of Programming Languages
* Philadelphia, USA
* January 25-27, 2012

Important Dates

Proposals for co-located events *22 April 2011*
Notification of event acceptance 22 May 2011
Abstract submission 8 July 2011 (11:59:59 Samoa time)
Paper submission 12 July 2011 (11:59:59 Samoa time)
Author response 14-18 Sept. 2011
Author notification 3 Oct. 2011
Camera ready 8 Nov. 2011
Conference 25-27 Jan. 2012
Co-located events: 22--24 and 28 Jan. 2012


Workshop, Tutorial, and Co-Located Event Proposals

Proposals are invited for workshops, tutorials, and other events to be
co-located with POPL 2012. Events may either be sponsored by SIGPLAN
or supported through in-cooperation status. For more information and
submission details, please visit:


Conference Scope

The annual Symposium on Principles of Programming Languages is a forum for the discussion of all aspects of programming languages and systems, with emphasis on how principles underpin practice. Both theoretical and
experimental papers are welcome, on topics ranging from formal frameworks to experience reports. Papers discussing new ideas and areas are most welcome,as are high-quality expositions or elucidations of existing concepts that
are likely to yield new insights ("pearls").


The program committee will evaluate the technical contribution of each submission as well as its accessibility to both experts and the general POPL audience. All papers will be judged on significance, originality,
relevance, correctness, and clarity. Each paper should explain its contributions in both general and technical terms, identifying what has been accomplished, explaining why it is significant, and comparing it with previous work.
More advice on writing technical papers can be found on the SIGPLAN Author Information page; advice on writing pearls can be found in the ICFP 2008 Call for Papers.

Submission Guidelines

Authors should submit an abstract of at most 300 words and a full paper of no more than 12 pages formatted according to the ACM proceedings format. These 12 pages include everything (i.e., it is the total length of the
paper). The program chair will reject papers that exceed the length requirement or are submitted late. Templates for ACM format are available for Word Perfect, Microsoft Word, and LaTeX at (use the 9 pt template). Submissions should be in PDF and printable on US Letter and A4 sized paper.

Submitted papers must adhere to the SIGPLAN Republication Policy. Concurrent submissions to other conferences, workshops, journals, or similar forums of publication are not allowed.

Following the recent history of PLDI and the lengthier history of other conferences, POPL'12 will employ double-blind reviewing. To facilitate this, submitted papers must adhere to two rules:

1. author names and institutions must be omitted, and
2. references to authors' own related work should be in the third person (e.g., not "We build on our previous work ..." but rather "We build on the work of ...").

Nothing should be done in the name of anonymity that weakens the submission or makes the job of reviewing the paper more difficult (e.g., important background references should not be omitted or anonymized). The program
chair has put together a document answering frequently asked questions that hopefully addresses many common concerns. When in doubt, contact the program chair.

There is an option on the paper submission page to submit supplementary material, e.g., a tech report including proofs, or the software used to implement a system. This supplemental material should NOT be anonymized;
it will be made available to reviewers after the intial reviews have been completed and author names are revealed. As usual, reviewers may choose to use the supplemental material or not at their discretion.

The URL for paper registration and submission will be announced closer to the submission deadline.

Author Response Period

Authors will have four days to read and respond to the reviews of their papers before the PC meeting. Details of the response process will be announced by e-mail a few days beforehand.

General Chair:

John Field
IBM T.J. Watson Research Laboratory
PO Box 704, Yorktown Heights, NY 10598, USA.

Program Chair:

Michael Hicks
Department of Computer Science
University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20866, USA

Program Committee:

Swarat Chaudhuri Pennsylvania State University, USA
Adam Chlipala Harvard University, USA
Dan R. Ghica University of Birmingham, UK
Aarti Gupta NEC Labs America, USA
Chris Hawblitzel Microsoft Research, Redmond, USA
Suresh Jagannathan Purdue University, USA
Ranjit Jhala University of California, San Diego, USA
Sorin Lerner University of California, San Diego, USA
Ondrej Lhotak University of Waterloo, Canada
P. Madhusudan University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Rupak Majumdar MPI-SWS, Germany
Matthew Might University of Utah, USA
Todd Millstein University of California, Los Angeles, USA
Greg Morrisett Harvard University, USA
Andrew Myers Cornell University, USA
Matthew Parkinso Microsoft Research, Cambridge, UK
Frank Piessens K.U. Leuven, Belgium
Andrew Pitts University of Cambridge, UK
Andreas Podelski University of Freiburg, Germany
François Pottier INRIA, France
Norman Ramsey Tufts University, USA
Tachio Terauchi Tohoku University, Japan
Mandana Vaziri IBM Research, USA
Dimitrios Vytiniotis Microsoft Research, Cambridge, UK
Nobuko Yoshida Imperial College, London, UK
Francesco Zappa Nardelli INRIA, France

Workshops Chair:

Matthew Might University of Utah


Bor-Yuh Evan Chang University of Colorado, Boulder

Publicity Chair:

Swarat Chaudhuri Pennsylvania State University

External review committee:

Umut Acar, MPI-SWS Rajeev Alur, Penn
Josh Berdine, MSR Cambridge Emery Berger, UMass
Hans Boehm, HP Labs Ahmed Bouajjani, Paris
David Brumley, CMU Bor-Yuh (Evan) Chang, Colorado
James Cheney, Edinburgh Koen Claessen, Chalmers
William Cook, UT Austin Derek Dreyer, MPI-SWS
John Field, IBM T.J. Watson Robby Findler, Northwestern
Cormac Flanagan, UCSC Jeff Foster, Maryland
Nate Foster, Cornell Patrice Godefroid, MSR Redmond
Andy Gordon, MSR Cambridge Dan Grossman, Washington
Rajiv Gupta, UC Riverside Kohei Honda, Queen Mary
Joxan Jaffar, Singapore Somesh Jha, Wisconsin
Patty Johann, Strathclyde Neel Krishnaswami, MSR Cambridge
Viktor Kuncak, EPFL Paul Levy, Birmingham
Yitzhak Mandelbaum, AT&T Roman Manevich, UT Austin
Ken McMillan, MSR Mayur Naik, Intel
Aditya Nori, MSR Bangalore Luke Ong, Oxford
Erez Petrank, Technion Simon Peyton Jones, MSR Cambridge
Brigitte Pientka, McGill Mark Ryan, Birmingham
Andrey Rybalchenko, T.U. Munchen Vijay Saraswat, IBM T.J. Watson
Helmut Seidl, T.M. Munchen Peter Sewell, Cambridge
Chung-chieh Shan, Rutgers Zhong Shao, Yale
Satnam Singh, MSR Cambridge Yannis Smaragdakis, UMass
Manu Sridharan, IBM T.J. Watson Sam Staton, Cambridge
Zhendong Su, UC Davis Nikhil Swamy, MSR Redmond
Ashish Tiwari, SRI Stavros Tripakis, VERIMAG
Jean-Baptiste Tristan, Harvard Martin Vechev, IBM T.J. Watson
David Walker, Princeton Stephanie Weirich, UPenn
Adam Welc, Intel Kwangkeun Yi, Seoul
Steve Zdancewic, UPenn Noam Zeilberger, Univ. of Paris 7

Document Actions

Filed under: ,
« June 2024 »